20
Apr
09

A Big Finish…

Viewers may be interested to know that I’m going to be starting to review Big Finish audio plays. Since I’m not on the WhoCast I’ve somewhat fallen behind with reviews of their output, which is a shame as they’re always enjoyable, even if occasionally they do get it not quite right.

So, shortly, and when I’ve had time to actually listen to ’em, I’ll be playing catch up and reviewing the UNIT series, Dalek Empire: The Fearless, Orbis and A Storm of Angels. If you already have these, then dust ’em off and have a listen again and see if you agree or disagree with my ramblings. I admit the reviews won’t be as good as in audio as I do work better with someone to bounce off – Im no writer, really, lol. But whatever you think of ’em, please do comment on the relevent blog entry, think about what your gonna type and lets get some healthy debate going. If you don’t already have ’em, well..either wait to see what folks think, or jump into the deep end and get em. Remember, Big Finish have a download service which is very good.

Ok… I go now to do listening…..

6 Responses to “A Big Finish…”


  1. 1 Lizaanne
    April 21, 2009 at 12:30 am

    Sounds like a great plan! I’m looking forward to reading your reviews. Haven’t heard any of the Big Finish line, but I did enjoy listening to your reviews of them on the WhoCast (which is quite boring now, I agree 😦 Am plannning to pick a few of the best Big Finish & check them out over the summer when I have more time.
    Sorry to hear that you didn’t care for Planet of the Dead– I have no idea when it will be aired here on whatever ridiculous name SciFi channel is calling itself now, so I’m waiting for not very much, I suppose.

  2. 3 macfadyan
    April 21, 2009 at 7:45 am

    ah, remember, thats just my opinion of it….I believe that Fake Keith from staggering stories adores it…well, theres no accounting for taste, lol. Watch it and make your own mind up – then let us all know 🙂

    The big finish range has its clunkers, but it also has some superb stories…. my absolute fave has to be Spare Parts – the horror of the story and the sheer atmosphere…it is quite simply wonderful.

  3. 4 wyn
    April 21, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Perhaps as part of your Big Finish reviews you could highlight the classics that you think we should buy?
    I’ve got spare parts, jubilee, circular time, (amongst not many others) and they are really good, and bear repeated listens. Mind you, (run, Wyn, run) I really enjoy Zagreus as well…

    Bod be with you

    Wyn

  4. 5 macfadyan
    April 21, 2009 at 11:37 am

    someone has to…

    actually, you can replace the lyrics of beware the judder man (avalible on staggering stories as mp3 and instrumental – better as instrumental as you don’t hear me ‘singing’) with the lines from the Zagreus rythme….

  5. 6 Lizaanne
    April 25, 2009 at 12:14 am

    Finally saw “The Next Doctor.” Hooray for utube. shhh.
    Posted my notes on it under your comments about it.


Leave a Reply

