04
May
09

Ooh Look, Rocks!

So, more stuff and things, then…

Been a funny old time, to be honest. Had the second Ultravox gig, this time at the Roundhouse up in That London. It was good, but the amount of people that were talking, dear Bod! During the quiet songs all you could hear was the low level babble of idiots. As opposed to the high level wailing of me, singing, lol. The gig was filmed for a dvd release at some stage – hopefully the whole thing, eh? Eh?

And as for the ‘Exocist’ moment……

Still looking to the Richmond Fellowship for work…thing is I’m going to need a car. I’ve had to contact the DSS to tell them that things have somewhat changed for me, what with BOB an’ all.. So there is a slight, very slight, not really going to happen chance that my money may go up for mobility. If it does it’ll mean I’ll be eligable for the Motorbility scheme wherein I can use my benefit to lease a car, taxed, insured etc. Now, this’ll be good in general for shops, gp, hostipal apps etc.. But moreso then that, I’ll be able to apply for jobs at the RF. Which will mean being able to come off some benefit… Hopefully, anyway. Also I’ll be able to take up my mentoring again for MIND, something else that went out the window when BOB struck. I have to give a lil talk to new mentors this Wednesday. That’s going to be fun – just hope I’m not having one of my panicky days.

Hmm, what else? Well, Poppy, my barking mad moggie isn’t too well, alas. Not sure whats wrong with her. She needs blood tests and I simply don’t have the money to do it at the moment. I did find out that instead of being one year old, she is actually more like eight. Because of this money thing, going to That London sort of wiped me out, I may not be in a position to go to the Radiophonic Workshop thingy at the Roundhouse on May 17th. I’ll be spitting if I can’t. However, I need to save money for Poppy.

Saying that, before I knew she was ill – I thought it was worms, originally – I’ve sort of upgraded. I needed a new mobile electric telephone thing. Those in the know will appreciate that I’ve never really been able to work the last phone I had – curtesy of Real Keith from Staggering Stories. After being refused credit at Vodaphone, I stuck my nose into Carphone Warehouse – and they cleared me for two contracts, the mad fools! So I got a cheap LG Cookie tefelone on a 15 quid a month contract…..

But then…

Well, they had an offer, you see? For mobile broadband. And why, it came with a free laptop! How very nice of them! A Toshiba P300.  And I’m currently typing this blog up on it! Whoot! Admitedly, makes money a little tight now cos of Poppy, but I’ll manage somehow. It’s duel core just over 2 gig thingy..not sure if it makes it faster then my 2800 single core thingy desktop…and whilst I thought it was just one gig of ram, apparently, according to the properties thingy, its 2 gig…go figure. Oh, and its Vista. Not too sure about the graphics capabilities, however…May have to look into seeing if it’s possible to upgrade that – somehow I doubt it.

I’m actually quite pleased with myself… You see, I managed to sort out the wireless thingy, getting it into the router – though I’d forgotton the password, lol – exporting mail and bookmarks from the desktop etc, all without help! Oh Bod – I’m becoming my own Chief Scientist!

I’m rather scared now….

10 Responses to “Ooh Look, Rocks!”


  1. 1 wyn
    May 5, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Can’t you get any help from PDSA or RSPCA for Poppy? If you’re on benefits? Of course if it’s incapacity, then it’s not a means tested benefit and therefore it makes getting help a bit harder. Don’t beat yourself up about Ultravox tickets, etc, everyone needs some pampering, and “me time”. Mine is Doctor Who (as you know), and so that’s my comfort blanket and the one thing I’m prepared to splash out on for myself.
    Good luck with the Mobility – the best thing for anyone on incapacity is to do a little bit of paid work, it’s rewarding and often therapeutic, if you get work in the right place. Mrs Wyn is on incapacity and thanks to the oh so modern attitude of the DWP to MH, she can’t get arrested, let alone a small amount of work in her areas of expertise (former teacher, qualifications in psychology and advanced counselling skills).
    Humm, still a bit miffed about that…

  2. 2 Mike C
    May 6, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Hi Tony

    Thanks for blogging. Just wanted to pop in and let you know how I enjoy reading your take on life, the universe and everything. I started listening to the Whocast before you did it but stopped because it was fairly charmless. Happened to pop back a year or so again and you and Trev were really cooking up a storm. Whatever went down later no matter, those shows were bloody excellent – really good banter and lots of wry humour. These days…Jesus. Lets just say *any* other Who podcast is preferable to the sound of two blokes with zero chemistry self-consciously gaffawing at their own mannered jokes. Add to that the constant glaring gaps in basic knowledge of their subject and suicidally amateur interviews and you have a genuine weekly horrorshow that keeps me entertained for deeply unhelthy reasons. Sorry if that’s a bit harsh but it’s dawn of the Bleedin Dead since you left! Come back soon with one of your own shows OK?!

    Mike C

  3. 3 macfadyan
    May 6, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    Wyn, I’m looking into the help thing, but actually getting through to the rspca’s correct dept is a feat in itself, lol.

    Mike – many thanks for the kind words. I haven’t heard the show since I was unceremoniously removed but I do feel for marty..I don’t think he truly knew what he was letting himself in for. Don’t worry, The Flashing Blade podcaast is getting there..got our first interview lined up already 🙂

  4. 4 wyn
    May 7, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Can I just echo Mike’s sentiments on the Whocast – jesus wept, it’s car crash podcasting… and Trev managed to wander into dodgy racial stereotype country last week – a new low (news about a bloke with an Indian-sounding name done for selling knock-off Dr Who merchandise – I thought at one point Trev was going to give us a rendition of Goodness Gracious Me). I listen for broadly the same reason as Mike, morbid curiosity as to how much worse it can get.

    Staggering Stories are genuinely and often seemingly effortlessly funny, Podshock are earnest but often unintentionally funny, Radio Free Skaro are amusing, Tachyon TV can be funny when they don’t try to hard to recapture their student days. There’s room for you Tony, c’mon mun, I can’t wait!!

    • 5 Staggering Non-Tory
      May 8, 2009 at 10:02 am

      Hi Tony,
      The previous correspondent is correct about Whocast.
      It has sunk to an all time low.

      116 had this interview by Marty that was very uncomfortable to hear and full of pregnant pauses.

      The whole DWO thing is interesting.
      My take on James T. Kirk, D’oh, I mean Seb, is that he runs it as a colossal ego trip and potential cash cow. Then you have the Tin Dog who blubs when somebody says the Whocast was not very good and Trev who does give the impression of having a rather large ego as well.
      Roll on Flashing Blade and Tony you should go back to Staggering Stories for their 50th.

      • 6 macfadyan
        May 8, 2009 at 2:53 pm

        well, like I’ve said, I haven’t heard the show since Iwas forced out – my blood pressure would go through the roof if I ever hear Trev’s voice again. If things are really so bad, or if your unhappy with the content: re the race thingy, then contact Paul Wilson via the dwo forums using pm…can’t promise you’ll get a reply within a week, but at least you’ve let him know. He’s the owner of the podcast, despite anything trev may think and he’s a decent bloke. As is the lil tin doggy…yeah, possibly a gentle soul, but one hell of a nice guy – don’t just judge by appearences 😛

        I’ll get me coat now… lol

  5. 7 macfadyan
    May 7, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    I’m working on it, I’m working on it!! have you any idea how many bernards it takes just to generate the power needed for my brain to function? The equivelant of 2, count them 2!!! nice cups of tea!

  6. 8 wyn
    May 8, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    tsk Tony, everyone knows that the most reliable power source in the universe is dribble.
    Keeps my bazer working lovely…

  7. 9 macfadyan
    May 8, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    your what?

  8. 10 wyn
    May 11, 2009 at 11:07 am

    “It is neither a laser, nor a staser, it is in fact a baser…”
    …ahem, sorry….

    Still waiting for series 2 and 3 of nebulous to come out on CD, so I can get these damn lines out of my head, or at least add some new ones.


Leave a Reply

